The little things

First & foremost I have to thank Jessica, Jorge & Amanda in San Fran for their generous hospitality! You guys gave me some much needed R&R. I meet these great people in the city and they felt compelled to support the Cali Cares journey by offering me a delicious meal.

Last night I had to stealth camp again on the road, right alongside the ocean. Just before bed I went down to the beach & meditated. I listened to the waves & thought of everyone I know & every single thing I own. Then I thought of losing all of it. Those thoughts made me appreciate the things I have taken for granted. Be thankful you have a home, it might be a tiny apartment but you have a roof over your head. Your car might not be a BMW but at least you have one. Heat, water, warm clothes- these were things that got abruptly and permanently taken from people after the earthquake and tsunami. So next time you’re feeling like you don’t have much, think that you have enough 🙂 Happy birthday mom & happy fathers day to all you Dads out there!!!

20110619-110408.jpg

The view from my stealthy camp sight.

6 Comments

Filed under Main

6 responses to “The little things

  1. Christine Smith

    Hey Michael! I just heard about your journey from your Mom at her birthday celebration. We had a lovely dinner at Terri’s, and you were a huge topic. What a great inspiration you are. Mom is worried, but so, so proud of you. All of us are, too! What a great way to combine an adventure of a lifetime with such a wonderful , giant “act of kindness”.
    Stay safe, and best of luck – the world is a better place because of YOU!
    Love,
    Chris

  2. Adam

    This is an amazing journey. Thanks for the inspirational words.

  3. J.J

    Michael Coleman how I love thee! What an inspiration you are to us all. You are always welcome in sf to stay with us and I cannot wait to see you again in your hood this time. Please do not hesitate to reach out if there is anything I can do to support you on your journey. Thank you for reminding us what life is all about… Simplicity, relationships, personal will.
    Be careful on the freeway… 😉

  4. kristtttttttttttteeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnnnn

    i like this post : )

Leave a Reply

