The Japanese Crane

Following up on a quote from Mike’s last post, “Remember, we’re not asking for you money…. we’re asking for your help.”  I would go even further to say, “We’re not asking for your help… We’re asking for your brain!”

Well, not like a zombie would ask.  But in a polite way we do want you to flex your grey matter.  After all, it’s good for you, and maybe good for someone else too!  Today’s post is one part history lesson and one part easy activity you can do to show your support.

Thanks to a tip, I was drawn to the symbolic meaning of the Crane in Japanese folklore.  In little time I had learned an inspirational lesson on the crane’s significance and found a neat way to give my support.

The Red-crowned Crane, also known as the Japanese crane, is revered as a holy creature capable of living for 1,000 years. It has been said that anyone who folds 1,000 origami cranes will be granted a wish of well-being. This wish may be long life, recovery from illness, or recovery from injury.

After learning this I began to really like the crane, it is a benevolent creature, willing to share its gifts with those in need.  But, the crane demands dedication.  Folding 1,000 cranes is no quick craft!  At least, this is what I gathered from pictures.

Wanting to learn how to make at least one crane, and then see what happens from there, I found 1,000 cranes for Japan.  After giving a small donation I chose my favorite origami paper design and set to the task of folding!

My first attempt did not go over well… I ended up making a fancy paper airplane.

After my robot was done playing, I found a helpful video, and finally a crane emerged from the square piece of paper.

I was happy. My robot missed the plane…

After making one I can only imagine the dedication it would take to make 1,000.  But, earning the crane’s wish may be worth the effort.

If you are interested in making a crane check out http://www.onethousandcranesforjapan.com/ and enjoy your gift.

-Zane

Leave a comment

Filed under Main

Leave a Reply

