excitement and the unknown!

I have a break in my day so I wanted to spend a few minutes composing a personal post and also explain where I see my contribution to this project heading.

For starters, what Mike is doing is just awesome, crazy, and old-fashioned admirable.  I am excited for him and the unknown adventures that await all of us who follow him online.  There will no doubt be some sketchy moments on the road.  A journey this long will have its share of surprises.  Thank the Heavens for social networking!  Through this blog, Twitter, and Facebook, we will all be able to keep in touch and hear about his journey.

If you don’t have an RSS reader (or you don’t know what that is) I would suggest getting one to keep you updated when we post on the blog.  I didn’t know exactly what RSS was until early this morning but it is safe to say I am now a believer.  In a nutshell, the stories you care about online (like this blog for example) are sent to you.  I went with Google Reader and I learned how to follow blogs by this short video. You just may find it addicting.

As for my involvement I am starting to see my time spent on the blog, researching events, and writing about them as my way of showing I care.  But, compared to the sacrifices others have made, I feel compelled to do more.  So I have decided to learn as much as I can, and do as much as I can, to turn this little blog into a hub of information about what is going on in Japan, California, and other relevant stories from around the world.  I envision this to be a place where you can stop in and learn something new, discover ways to offer different kinds of support, see what cool things others are doing, and make connections with real people in your neighborhood and across the world.

Thanks for your time and feel free to comment, ask us questions, or offer your support.

-Zane

Leave a comment

Filed under Main

Leave a Reply

